Skip to content

The Rhythm is Gonna Get You

February 28, 2009

I knew it would take me a while to get the hang of blogging.  I’m only three weeks after my debut though — I’ve seen worse.  I have a friend with a great ability to see analogies of our walks with God in everyday, seemingly mundane things.  I think it’s rubbing off on me.  I’ve been learning to play the drums as of a few months ago.  It’s something I’ve wanted to do since I was 15, but never made the opportunity (I can only blame myself).  Well since one of my passions is to continually learn new things, and apparently I’m not getting any younger, I decided to stop putting it off.  One thing I’ve found about the drums is that they are actually a musical instrument and not a sport.  They have notes to learn to read and everything.  I thought the hardest thing to learn would be the coordination, but it turns out simply keeping time is one of the hardest and most frustrating of all.  It struck me that in our walk with God the Holy Spirit is like our metronome.  In my life it’s easy to be impatient and want to rush ahead of where God wants me.  I’ve also found when that happens I get out of step and things around me seem to be out of rhythm.  What I end up having to do, just like when I’m practicing the drums, is stop and listen closely to get back on tempo and continue putting forth the effort to stay in time.  Sometimes I can drag and need to catch up.  The beat is always there — it’s up to us to listen for it and stay with it.  Here’s to making the music God intends us to by staying in time with His rhythm.  I know my neighbors are praying the same thing for me.

From → Live and Learn

2 Comments
  1. Jeff Smith permalink

    GREAT analogy and a great read! Thanks, Hal.

  2. R u a closet Gloria Estefan fan?? ; )

    Had no idea you started a blog! Love it! So glad to see you guys again this weekend, and it is a privilege to have you in our lives. So thankful for your friendship and God is doing so much in and thru you both.

Leave a Reply

