Skip to content

It is Finished

April 14, 2009

About 2 months ago I started working with a buddy of mine who builds custom homes. Nice custom beach homes. The million dollar kind. So when he said the project I was going to help him on was a detached garage I should have known you’d be able to fit my entire house inside it. It’s been one of the most interesting projects I’ve ever been involved in for a few reasons. First, I’ve never built a structure like this from the ground up. I can now check that off the list of life, and it really is a good feeling. I have mad respect for builders like Brian Shelton who take their time and do things right, even when it costs more. Second, I can’t tell you how much I’ve learned on this job site. It’s funny how much you think you know going into something only to be humbled the first day. I gotta thank Brian for pouring years and years of knowledge into me and being patient while I got the hang of it.  It’s cool how when you allow yourself to be taught by forgetting you know anything at all, you can look back after a while and see serious growth.  It doesn’t hurt when the teacher is a master carpenter.  I started off soft physically too, and have felt the benefits of hard labor. My skinny fat left around week 6 or so. The homeowner we built this garage for said hard work never hurt anyone. He would know too — he’s a tug boat pilot on the cape fear river, the kind that maneuver the huge cargo ships in and out, through the bridges with a foot of clearance on each side. I could write a whole blog on this dude alone. If anyone complains about their job or that they work too hard, just have one conversation with him and you’ll walk away feeling weak. I promise. Can you imagine being on call 24/7? Not being able to leave town even for a day? Enjoy a beer after a long day because you might get a call any minute for an all nighter, or even an all weekender? Like I said, what I learned on this job has benefitted me where I didn’t even know I needed it.  Besides that, it was also just plain fun. I’m sad to see it come to an end, but like all good things . . . Here are some pics of the process; you can fit his 40 ft. RV on one side, regular cars and motorcycles and workshop on the other, and a finished apartment upstairs.  Can’t wait to find out what God has in store next to work on.

 

p.s. Yes, it’s getting painted barn red in case you were wondering.

From → Build

2 Comments
  1. gearguy permalink

    nice insight, and PS- I’d totally live in that and have room for everything I own and used to own…

    -chad

  2. Jeff Smith permalink

    SWEEET GARAGE! As always, your blogs are great and insightful reading. Here’s hoping more work for you and Brian and all of us in the industry! Take care!

Leave a Reply

